Why I Watch TV

Posted on

Television. It’s something we take for granted, but back in the day, it was revolutionary! I wonder if back then people realized what a major role it would take in our lives. I doubt they could have predicted the information, entertainment, dependence, and addiction that TV brings.

I have been trying not to watch too much, and to be aware of why I get the urge to watch. It can be such a strong urge, too! I know I’ve blogged about this before, but I have a few more insights! You might think the main reason for watching TV is entertainment, but I have found this not to be true, not for me. Over the last couple of months I have realized that I have other reasons:

One reason I want to watch TV is for excitement. I like excitement, I like to do new things, go new places, try new food, etc. So, sometimes, I go scrolling through the guide looking for some excitement. So that makes me wonder, is my real life too boring? Do I need some excitement in my non-TV life? Yeah, I guess life here is kinda dull sometimes! So I went on a mini-road trip to a remote park area where I needed my bear spray, and that spiced things up a little! I was planning on hiking, but instead I met an interesting lady who lives at a forestry watch tower and had a lovely time visiting (see picture at right).

Another reason I watch TV is for distraction. Because I am not happy with something in my life, in my surroundings, in my situation, in myself…. That was an interesting revelation! And all this time I thought I was so happy! Well, usually I am, but when I get discontent, TV calls out to me to distract me from the problem, to run from it, avoid it. It becomes self-medication, to numb the uncomfortable feeling I am having. So, that’s the time I really should stop, listen to my insides and figure out what is bothering me, why, and most importantly, come back to the present and the realization that this moment is perfect.

The last reason I watch TV is to kill time. Which is interesting, since I often feel like I don’t have enough! Exactly what time should die? I need all the snippets of time I can get! Geez. So, I guess wanting to kill time is related to being discontent with the current moment, or maybe it’s just that age-old quest to kill some time and make other time last longer. So I am laughing at myself because I am once again being totally impractical and just plain funny.

Occasionally, I want to watch TV to learn something. But this is usually distraction disguised as the desire for education. I mean really, I like to learn new things, but let’s be realistic! Do I go seeking out that show on shark behaviour because I am working towards a zoology degree? No, I do not. I do it because I don’t feel like doing anything else. Could it be this very process of elimination that causes most people to pursue higher education in the world? “I don’t feel like doing anything else, so I might as well get this masters degree…” 🙂 In any case, watching educational shows is better than most other stuff on the tube. Speaking of the tube, beware of YouTube! Before you know it, half the day is gone!

That’s all for now, then. So why do you watch TV? Leave me a comment! Whatever you do, don’t forget to get outside and enjoy the real world, too. Summer only lasts, well, a few weeks, so get out there with your can of spray-deet, or your lemon-eucalyptus lotion 🙂 and enjoy!

One thought on “Why I Watch TV

    Henry David Thoreau said:
    July 23, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    As if you could kill time without injuring eternity.

Leave a Reply

