Blessings

Posted on

Last week, I went cross-country skiing, briefly – there was no trail made, so I didn’t got far before filling my boots with snow and turning around and backtracking! It was a beautiful day, only about -5 C, so I was just happy to be out and about. On the way back, I got a special treat – I saw 2 moose cross the path in front of me! It was quite a sight – they were coming from the direction of town, heading into the bush, and of course the trails are on the edge of town. They running across the trail, so obviously they must have been scared by something, probably a car or truck. I don’t think it was little old me on the cross country skis, ploughing along…! It was quite a sight to see, 2 beautiful, big moose bounding across the trail and into the bush. One went in to a thicker area, so I couldn’t see it, but the other one just went off into the poplars, so I could see it quite well for a while. It seemed pretty unconcerned with me. So I am feeling very blessed to get to see some moose up close! I have seen them along the road, rarely, and even as I whiz by I am always excited to see them, but on foot, at much slower speeds, it was a real treat.  I don’t know if they were male of female, because the males don’t have antlers at this time of year (someone correct me if I’m wrong, I’m not a biologist).

Deer in Cutline

And then the other day, at work, I saw 5 or 6 deer, not far from the airport! They were in a cutline that we have that allows us to see Footner Lake and Watt Mountain. Luckily, I had brought my camera to work that day, so I managed to get a few pictures! So that was another treat! And I saw some more deer (possibly the same ones) that night going home from work, along the edge of the road! Luckily, they bounded over the snowbanks along the edge and did not test the structural integrity of my car! 🙂 Deer are so smart!  Apparently, the wolves are on the move as well – my coworker told me, and I also had a pilot comment that he saw a deer that had been taken down by wolves.  The snow has a nice crust on top, so they can get around better (and I imagine it’s harder for the hoofed animals).

To top off my week, I’ve been blessed to see 2 wonderful displays of aurora! Dancing, ribbony, floating, cloud-like, spikey, mostly green with wisps or red! Darren said there was an awesome display in Edmonton that same evening, with white and purple even!  So I hope that lots of you got to see them!

So I’m just feeling very grateful and appreciative of the nature that I’ve encountered in the last week!  It makes me glad I live where I do, where the northern lights are a frequent occurrence and the skies are nice and dark. I took some nice pictures of the lunar eclipse a few weeks ago and some constellation pictures, too, right from my back yard. 🙂 And I’m using these gifts to remember God’s greatness and to put in perspective some people-related things that have happened this week.

Hopefully you’re all having a great week, and enjoying the spring-like weather!  I was out on my back deck today, soaking up the rays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

