Nerds of a Feather…

Posted on Updated on

Hello everyone! I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I blogged! Time, like snow, just flies! 🙂
Lots is new with me, or not entirely new, but since I haven’t blogged in so long, it’ll be new to all of you! I have a *wonderful* boyfriend, as of the end of September. His name is Darren, and I have known him for a long time – we were in Physics at the U of A together. We met something like 12 years ago, although I don’t exactly remember meeting him. I always thought he had a great smile back then, and thought he was really nice. But I never thought of him as more than a friend, for whatever reason. I found out recently that he thought I was a “physics babe” which totally makes me laugh! 🙂 But I guess that’s how he thought of me – woo hoo!
So we reconnected while he was back visiting Canada from China, and then shortly after, he returned to Canada for good! Good for me! 🙂 As we rekindled our friendship, other flames started to grow… and yes, I realized I really liked him, this time as more than a friend. The amazing thing is how we are so very similar, and on very similar paths, and with very similar beliefs about things and both very keen to think about things deeply, get philosophical and whatnot. 🙂 In fact, he has a webpage madphilosopher.ca, if you want to check it out and find out more about him. He’s so great! We’re also at the same nerdi-ness level, which is good!
So I am very grateful to have met him way back when and to have gotten to know him again! We share such deep conversations… some of them will end up on this blog, so you’ll have to check back later. I have also been doing a short radio feature called “Outside the Box” where I ramble on about various topics that are a little off the beaten path of most Christians (it’s a Christian radio station). It’s designed to get people thinking and expanding their spiritual horizons, so to speak. It’s been fun and I really enjoy doing it. I’m also doing a ton of other volunteering – that’s the main reason I haven’t been blogging as much. But I plan on cutting back (again) to get my life into better balance.
So that’s all for now! Stay tuned… more blogging in the future, I promise. I might even blog or somehow post some of my radio scripts here… we’ll see. By the way, the picture in this blog is from a very cool piece of playground equipment in Camrose, AB, which Darren and I had to visit. Sorry I don’t have the GPS co-ordinates! Have to get them next time. 🙂 Take care everybody!

One thought on “Nerds of a Feather…

    chris said:
    July 31, 2008 at 3:39 am

    hey, its the star ship enterprise at the star trek park. darren and i went here last august and neither one of us had a camera (poor planning i think). at least someone had a camera this time.

Leave a Reply

