Signs of Spring!

Posted on

The time just flies by these days! I can’t believe it’s been over a week since the last blog – almost 2 weeks actually! I have been moderately busy, and the weather has been very nice out lately! Spring was fairly short and temperatures are rising nicely! The top 10 signs of spring in High Level have all come to pass:
10. mud everywhere!
9. shrinking snow banks/piles
8. huge puddles all over town
7. birds other than ravens flying around
6. Canada geese migrating (back from the south)
5. not wearing long johns any more
4. evening twilight at 10 pm
3. sunlight actually feels warm when it shines on you
2. the first dandylion has bloomed
1. the first mosquito has bitten!! (I am not joking!)

Yup, I’ve seen a few mosquitos… so I think we could even say that it’s officially summer now! That’s not to say we won’t get any more snow (knock on wood), but it has been quite nice out, and I think I’ve finally cat-proofed my yard (where’s that wood again)! I used long plastic tent pegs to keep the bottom of the fence down, and I rearranged the wood I had there before to cover the gap at the bottom. So far he hasn’t escaped, but he sits looking at the pegs, so he’s probably trying to calculate the length of the lever and the position of the fulcrum he’ll need to pry the pegs out… 🙂
I’ve been wanting to get philosophical on my blog but I didn’t know where to start. I’ve been reading a bit lately and one thing that hit me was from the book The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz. He talks about how when we’re young, we humans are domesticated, in other words, we’re raised to conform, to please, to obey, to think certain things about ourselves, depending on what our parents or siblings told us. If they said we were stupid, we believe it and it shapes our whole life. If we were nagged about doing certain things certain ways we might become perfectionists. And because of criticism from our parents or others, we learn to judge ourselves–even more harshly than others do–to avoid getting into trouble or to please them. We also learn to act like a victim if someone does something to us, as well as many other behviours that come from false beliefs we adopt because of what people say to us. It just shows the power of words and the importance of individuality, freedom to express oneself, and the need for tolerance in differences between people. Not to mention that we could use to lighten up on judging ourselves because it goes hand-in-hand with judging others, which is simply not our job in life and makes us miserable!!
So, there’s a few things to get you thinking! I hope you are enjoying spring wherever you are — take time to get outside, breathe the fresh air and feel the sunshine. Take care everybody!

One thought on “Signs of Spring!

    Anonymous said:
    May 1, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Hey Ter, Finally got a chance to read your blog, just wanted to tell you I Love you, can’t wait to see you when you come down again Take Care, Keep a strain on it… Love Gina

Leave a Reply

