Wrestling Eddie

Posted on

Some people ride raging, angry bulls. Some people, like Steve Erwin, wrestle alligators and crocodiles. Me? I don’t ride bulls (or even horses often enough to say I do). I don’t wrangle with alligators and pry their mouths open. No, I ride my cat, pry his little – but very toothy – mouth open to shove pills in it. I’m a feline pill-pusher, literally. The first few times I had to do it, the process took several attempts not because of Eddie, but because of my inexperience with the pill-popper device and with the whole ordeal. I’ve since figured out the best way is to straddle him, kneeling on the floor, with his chin in my left hand, the pill-popper in the right. The pill popper is like a syringe, but at the end, instead of a needle, there’s a spot for the pill and depressing the plunger pushes the pill out. I pry open his mouth and then try to aim the pill to the back of his throat. So, it used to take me 3 tries to get the pill down, but now, Eddie is wisening up! He’s such a stinker! Tonight, it took about 6 tries, not as much because of my bad aim or timing, but because he is getting very smart. A couple of missed attempts were because of his quick wiggling. Some, because he managed to hork the pill up even though it was very far back in his throat. But the funniest of all? He actually kept the pill in his mouth for about 10 seconds, and then spit it back out on the floor. He was trying to fool me into thinking he’d swallowed it! What a stinker! So, now I have to wait longer… but I can kind of tell by the expression on his face if he’s got it in his mouth or if it went down the hatch. When he’s holding it, his eyes are bigger and he is watching me (probably waiting for me to walk away), and it looks like he’s thinking “c’mon, c’mon, just walk away lady….” If he’s really swallowed it, he is totally resigned, with his eyes half-open and his head hung low. I’m such a meanie, aren’t I? 🙂

Not much else to report as far as adventures go… It was nice having a day off, and I just finished making cinnamon twists. They are so yummy! I am going to make another batch tomorrow, I think. 🙂 That’s all for now, then! Just wanted to tell you about Eddie’s pill-avoiding sneakiness. I don’t think he learned it from me! 🙂

One thought on “Wrestling Eddie

    Patricia said:
    December 13, 2006 at 2:41 pm

    Too funny!! Of course, I can laugh, so far we’ve never had to give Bruce pills. With Hannah, we’ve had to do it lots, and it’s a two person job – one to pin her sitting against the kitchen cupboards, the other to throw the pill down her throat. (She’s not one of those dumb dogs that will let you hide pills in cheese or peanut butter, she can pull the pills out of both of those things, and swallow the food and spit the pill.) Can’t imagine wrestling the cat by yourself!!!

    Sounds like fun – NOT! Good luck…

Leave a Reply

