Curtaining

Posted on

Hi everybody! As Eddie said 🙂 in the last post, I have been working on curtains quite a bit lately… It’s a pain in the neck to set up the sewing machine, so I have decided to get it all done at once! I made living room curtains (a thin, purple flowered fabric), bedroom curtains (navy blue with white eyelet material over top), and kitchen curtains (white sheers with peach-coloured fruits on it). The purpose of the bedroom curtains is to keep light out, and the purpose of the other two was to let light in! The kitchen curtains I made from material I found in my cloth box, that I had bought in Sudbury a while back and never did anything with! In fact, I finished them off with some ribbon that I also bought a while back and, well, you know. I have to admit that when it comes to fabric, I often buy fabric that I see, usually on sale, that I can’t pass by, but then don’t do anything with it. I have good intentions to make something out of it (or maybe not, but I think that I’ll think of something!) but then I get busy, so I don’t do anything with it. Well, now I am not very busy, and I was in need of curtains, as my windows looked so drab with just white horizontal blinds. I wanted more privacy, too, but still letting a bit of light in. I am afraid that my plants are going to die for lack of light! It’s pretty dark here, already, and it’s even worse with the cloud and snow we’ve been getting! It’s been snowing for a couple of days straight, and we have about 10 cm on the ground now, which for us is quite a bit. I add this last bit because we used to get a lot more snow in Sudbury and Ottawa (I lived there 6 months, which of course included some of winter) because the relative humidity is a lot higher there. It’s pretty dry here, and I have been steadily feeding my brand-new humidifier every 10 hours. It helps a bit!!
Isn’t winter wild? It’s the only season that just drops on ya – no gradual start here!! Spring, summer and fall are all gradual seasons – they can sneak up on you and all of a sudden you realize it’s there – but not winter. It goes *wham* and you get dumped on, and you know that winter’s here! Oh well, I don’t mind. But, I may have to follow my sis’s lead and get new winter tires. They don’t plow here as well as they should, or maybe it’s just that they have oh, about 500 km of highway to maintain. So far, in town it’s not too bad… but my parking area could use some work.
I am thinking that I would like to make some more friends here in town. Or maybe I just need to take more initiative and call the ones I have to go do things. I really don’t do much outside of work, especially with other people, and I think that might be a bit unhealthy. I hear there are sports-nights in the high school gym during the week, so I am going to find out when that is and try and go from time to time. I may also go to “dart night” at the Legion on Wednesdays. We’ll see. I get along great with my neighbour, and we went out for supper once, but I just don’t want to bug her too much. Oh, well! 🙂 No complaints, really, just observations.
Well, I hope you enjoy the pictures of the curtains, and I guess that’s about all for now. Take care, everybody! Write comments!

2 thoughts on “Curtaining

    Patricia said:
    November 6, 2006 at 5:55 pm

    YES!!! Get good tires! You put a lot of miles on those ones you’ve got now. The Goodyear Regatta2 tires that I got are great all-season tires, but you might want winter winter tires. In that case I have no idea what to recommend. Just DON’T let anyone sell you “house brand” tires (unless you want to be like me, stuck replacing them after a year – ick!).

    Nice to see all the pics!! I could send you the 25 meters of white sheer fabric I bought, if you’re really on a roll. I do need to get my sewing machine set up. Soon. Really.

    Sean and I started swimming last week and surprisingly, I loved it!!! So that’s something else you could go do, maybe they have an aquasize class? Or you could just swim, but you won’t meet many people.

    Hope all goes well. Love ya.

    Stevenevraumont said:
    November 6, 2006 at 8:30 pm

    Good advice Patricia cause companies who recommend “house tires” offer more profit margin for the company and they aren’t any better.

    I am fond of Michelin tires because I have used them and they last a long time. The X One was a really good tire but I think it is more designed for west coast weather. I would look at the Michelin X Ice and see what you think. You can probably get a brochure from any dealer up there.

    I love the pics hun! You are turning your place into a really nice cozy home.

    Hugz,

    Steve

Leave a Reply

