Northern Awe

Posted on


I hope I never lose the feeling of awe when I see the northern lights. They are so amazing – how they dance and ripple, ever-changing. They can be intense enough to shine through cloud! They can be serene, barely moving, almost like cloud, floating high… and even though I understand the process that produces them, they are still so beautiful and awesome (in the true meaning of the word) to look at. I just hope that seeing them more often now in High Level will not make me forget how special they are and how lucky I am. It’s hard to imagine that some people go their whole lives without seeing them! Having lived in Canada my whole life, and most of it in north-central Alberta, they are a fact of life! They’re a treat to see, but I have to say I have gotten used to them. I’ve seen them 3 nights in a row, working midnight shifts. And when I checked the NOAA auroral activity map (see http://www.sec.noaa.gov/pmap/) it was only a level 5 (on a scale of 1 to 10)! Wow. They are an especially nice treat since it’s a bit grim how it is getting dark much sooner than it was a month ago! The perpetual twilight of June and July were great – the sunsets full of colour and lasting for hours – but the inky blackness of the sky decorated with greenish dancing ribbons is also great! I have also seen the sky about half-covered with noctilucent clouds – another rare thing that few people get to see! So, I remind myself that I am very, very “lucky.” The picture of noctilucent clouds, which I thought I’d include since they are so rare (copyright and credit Pekka Parviainen). The ones I saw in July were very similar-looking as these. They covered about a third of the sky!!

I hope everyone is doing well! My sister is slowly recovering. It is going to take a while – it was quite a major surgery. We really do take for granted how well our bodies work and how complex they are. Even if we have aches or small problems, there’s still a lot that works right! 🙂 Have a great day, everyone! And God bless.

One thought on “Northern Awe

    Stevenevraumont said:
    August 27, 2006 at 11:30 pm

    It was only a few days ago that I saw the Northern Lights again for quite some time too. I quietly said to myself “Never forget how lucky you are to see these lights!” I also thought to myself, how could you doubt the existence of the creator when you see such beauty?

Leave a Reply

