Newfie-isms!!

Posted on

Hi everyone! There are 6 of us at the station where I work, and 3 of them are Newfies (and another one from Nova Scotia). Now and then, they’ll come out with some saying that I’ve never heard and makes me laugh so hard, I am bent over in my chair! So, I thought I would share a few of them (actually said by my co-workers)!

More nervous than a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs
Busier than a one-legged man in an ass-kicking contest
(getting in trouble with a boss) – boss was “chewin’ me a new arse-hole”
(someone was house-hunting) – “he was after lookin’ at houses”

While 2 of my newfie co-workers were on vacation, I was the designated cat-sitter. As a thank-you gift, Dave and Kelly gave me a Dictionary of Newfoundland and Labrador (by Ron Young). It includes a section with sayings, and while many are common anywhere in Canada (like a fish out of water, up the creek with one oar, gettin’ it done in the long run) but there are thousands more I’ve never heard and could never dream up!!

You’re not too moudly (you’re smart)
Batter to Moses and tell him I sent you (get out of here, beat it, get lost)
Knock off drivin’ works!! (stop horsing around)
Helping Larry (doing nothing “Me old man said he was going to busy down in the stage all day, but I daresay he’s helping Larry”)
He could sleep on a clothes line (he could sleep anywhere)
Larry is crawling up my back (I’m getting sleepy)
There’s no back doors about him. (he speaks his mind)
Fresh as a rubber boot (not very salty. “This salt beef and cabbage dinner is fresh as a rubber boot.”)
He’s blind in one eye and can’t see out of the other one. (He’s pretending he doesn’t understand, but he does.)
What are you after doing now? (What have you done?)
Get on outdoors and let the wind blow the stink off you. (Go out for some fresh air.)
An old broom knows the dirty corner best. (The experienced person can do the job better than the greenhorn.)

There are lots more, but I’ll leave it at that for now! Take care, everybody! Happy Sunday!

One thought on “Newfie-isms!!

    Stevenevraumont said:
    August 7, 2006 at 6:55 am

    I didn’t realize there was so much differences to the newfie language. I bet you could petition a University to start a language program for it. Hmmm… Newfie as a second language(NASL)?

    Chaching!

Leave a Reply

