A Little Time

Posted on

I’m here at the library with a little time to spare, so I thought I would update you on how things are going. Things at work are going great! I am working afternoon shifts at the moment – and what a relief from working 7:30 am – 4:30 pm every day! It is nice. 🙂 It is SO nice to be checked out – working on my own. I know that I still have to be careful not to make mistakes, but I am feeling fairly confident and happy! Personally, I am doing great, too! Steve is here right now, visiting me, and it is so nice to show him around High Level, try out some restaurants, have some people over to visit… just to have him to share things with! 🙂 So, life is pretty good. Not perfect, but pretty darn good! I have a bit of a cold, but it is not too bad.

A couple other funny things about High Level I wanted to tell you about:

Drive-thru bulletin board. Yes, there is a community bulletin board that people post things on, and the other day, I am not joking, there was a short line-up of cars waiting to drive by and look at it! Crazy! They would pull up, roll down the window, and read stuff on the bulletin board, and then drive on and the next car would repeat the process. Pretty wild, eh?

Newfie expressions. I work with a bunch of easterners (mostly newfies). Apparently, Fort McMurray is about 80% Newfie. By the way, Newfoundlanders say the name of their province “new-fund-LAND” with emphasis on the last syllable, unlike how I grew up, saying “NEW-fund-land” or Ontarians who say “new-FOUND-land.” Anyhoo, newfie expressions are great, and I think I’ll do a whole blog on them soon! Stay tuned!

Well, that’s all for now. Hope everyone is doing well, and not working too hard. Enjoy the rainy days (that’s we have today) along with the sunshine! And if somebody sees Nancy Chartrand, say hi to her specially for me. I’ve been missing her lately! Take care, everybody!

Leave a Reply

