High Level Notes

Posted on

Hi everybody! Hope you’re all doing well. Sorry I haven’t blogged in awhile. It’s been busy and a bit crazy, but yet slow with time to think. Go figure! I’ve been taking more notes on High Level, so here they are!

– The mosquitos really are bigger up north. I know, everyone talks about it, and you think it’s a rural myth, but it isn’t. They really are bigger. I estimate about 40% bigger. And they’re hungry! (I pray for a strong wind to keep them at bay!)

– The pace of life is slower. Yeah, another rural (or small-town) myth you thought was not true. Well, let’s just say that I regularly see people going for walks in the evenings, and even – brace yourself – people coming home for LUNCH! Unbelievable! That they a) have time to have a lunch and b) have time to drive home and make it and c) don’t feel the need to buy it at a fast-food place is truly amazing. As for the people taking walks… maybe it’s a sign that there just isn’t a heck of a lot else to do!

– Television is important. See point above. Everyone has a satellite dish installed on their house. And near the airport, there is even a satellite dish installed on a tree!! I am going to take a picture of it – you have to see it to believe it. And you know how people say “everyone” but it isn’t really everyone? Well, in this case, as far as I know, I am the only one in town without one. Wild, eh? It could have something to do with the fact that we don’t get any channels on the TV. Not even one channel coming in badly. Nothing. Which leads me to the next point…

– Only 3 radio stations. You know, how when you scan through the AM dial on your radio, you can usually get 10 stations, many of the overlapping on the others, and sometimes they’re pretty bad quality, but hey! Well, I can only get 1 AM station, and 2 FM stations. Not even CBC (another myth debunked, that you can listen to CBC anywhere in Canada). Of the 2 FM stations, one is country and the other – thankfully – is like standard rock and roll. 🙂

– I love the change in seasons. For instance, I’m glad Skidooing season is over (the noise of snow machines at 6 in the morning screaming down the back alleys and across school yards is enough to make you want to move out into the country), however, it is now quadding season. Thankfully, they are not as squealing when they fly down the back alley, and they aren’t quite as frequent.

– It’s a green town. By this I mean that there are little stands of poplar around town – a lot over here, a little green belt between two residential streets over there. It’s quite nice. And about a week and a half ago, all the leaves on all the trees came in, in about 12 hours. It was pretty cool. The town is not very green in that I do find there’s quite a bit of garbage along the edge of certain roads, probably worse in spring because the snow melted and revealed what was thrown out of car windows all winter long. It’s the weirdest thing – I was walking and I saw someone just whip an empty cup out the window of their truck. I don’t know about you, but my mommy taught me to keep the garbage in the car!! (Organic material like apple cores were allowed to be thrown out.)

Well, that’s all I have time for right now! Hope you are all doing well! Remember that a little kindness goes a long way! And I’m not just talking about when you are dealing with the police officer that pulled you over for a speeding ticket. (No, this didn’t happen to me, it’s hypothetical.) Try a little kindness on your toast in the morning, with a friend at lunch and your family at dinner. 🙂 It sweetens the roughest day.

P.S. My training is being extended so that I get enough experience to deal with the craziness of fire season. We have a forest fire detachment here in High Level, and it can make things pretty nuts, not to mention all the helicopter activity. 🙂

One thought on “High Level Notes

    Patricia said:
    May 11, 2006 at 3:57 am

    Hey Ter. Great chatting tonight.

    I have two words for you: Satellite Radio. When you start to get your “real” pay, of course!

Leave a Reply

