Getting Settled In…

Posted on

I am starting to get settled in to my new place, so I thought I should tell you all about it! It is a row-house, with a front door, back door, 2 parking spaces and a small fenced back yard. I have a little deck out the back door, facing east. The place itself is big and bright; I have a good-sized kitchen (I’ll never fill all the cupboards!) and a dining room/eating area, both with east-facing windows. ๐Ÿ™‚ Windows that open, I might add (since at NCTI, I appreciate windows that open so much more!)! Also on the main floor, I have a small bathroom, large storage room that Dione actually used as a computer room, and a large living room. The living room has nice light-coloured wood laminate flooring, and faces west. The rest of the flooring is white linoleum with medium-blue diamonds. It is so nice and big! And it feels especially big since I had been living in a hotel room for a month! I am so blessed… ๐Ÿ™‚ Downstairs there are 3 bedrooms (yes, 3!) and a full bathroom, small laundry room and furnace. The master bedroom has blue carpet – very nice, not too short or too shaggy – and a walk-in closet! I was in shock! It is so nice. And the two small bedrooms also have decent-sized closets, too. I have my bedroom mostly set up now. I just put my dresser together last night and finished it this morning. I have a pile of boxes in one of the spare rooms and just a few boxes in the other one. It is great.

Work is going well… I am now completed my third week of checking out, and am starting the 4th week. My mom sent me some more of the ‘brain tea’ and it was just in the nick of time!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am doing pretty good – handled a tricky, busy time on Tuesday and it went pretty well, with only a few mistakes. I am supposed to be finished the training by May 5th, and then I’ll be completely checked out. ๐Ÿ™‚ The pilot tally is now at 6, for those who are interested (pilots who visit the tower, possibly to see who the woman behind the new voice is)!!

Well, that’s all the time I have, as my time on the computer is almost up! Hope everyone is doing well! Enjoy spring, especially before the bugs come out! Keep in touch!

4 thoughts on “Getting Settled In…

    Stevenevraumont said:
    April 14, 2006 at 4:12 pm

    Carefull! Men in uniform! *wink

    I am so happy to hear you are settling into your new place. You are such an amazing person that I know you will check out in no time. You worked so hard and now will come the fruits.

    God Bless

    Patricia said:
    April 18, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    Ha, and here I replied to your email today, asking about the pilot count!! Good to know…

    Next we need a scorecard: Pilots 6, Teresa 0 ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or would the number be higher?!?

    David said:
    April 19, 2006 at 12:58 am

    I wonder how many pilots keep a “tower tally”? It’s probably a lower number, since visiting in a cockpit is bound to be less comfortable. (Or else pilots are duller people. Oops–no offence, WestJet!)

    Glad to hear getting established (as a worker and a resident) in High Level has gone swimmingly (notwithstanding the muddiness of the water swum in). It sounds like such a casual (and polite) community–no traffic control devices?! And as long as you can buy tins of Folger’s, I guess you’re in business.

    I was tempted to check if you were home for Easter, but wherever you spent it, I hope you enjoyed a happy and holy one. And I’m glad to hear your dad’s recovering his self as well as his health.

    Gad, your apartment sounds bright and bigger than my house! Lots of room for Eddie to run laps and stay trim while you’re away at work.

    Take care, Teresa!

    Julie from Science North said:
    April 20, 2006 at 1:03 pm

    Hi Teresa, congrats on moving in successfully. I still think about you in the little province of Ontario and Space Place will never be the same. Well enjoy your summer in your new home.

Leave a Reply

