Getting Used to the Altitude!

Posted on

Hi everybody! I thought I’d scoot to the library before they close and do a quick blog for ya!! Things are going well – the last couple of days at work were not very busy. Today was very foggy, so we literally had no one land or take off until about 3:00 pm. We had 2 planes attempt to land in the morning, but it was so foggy, they could not see the runway. So, no landing for them! I had a nice visit with my commenting sister, Patricia! ๐Ÿ™‚ We didn’t get to hang out all the time, since she was here on a conference and I had to work, but it was great! We had enough time to tour her around, catch up on things, show her my new place… so, now more of you will have to visit! I suggest early spring (now) before the mosquitos come out!!

I realized the other day that I never really told you about my first day of work! It was a cold, snowy day, quite windy, and as soon as Dione and I got to work, we offered to “get the snow” for the person who was working. “Getting the snow” is when we have to walk over to the weather observing area and collect the snow from the snow guage and measure the overall depth of snow on the ground. The weather observing area is across the apron, in a grassy (snowy) area between the runway and the apron. This is not normally a problem, but at the time we were going to cross, there was a Golden Eagle (C421, medium-small airplane) powering up and preparing to depart. And it was parked right between us and the weather area. So, we stood for a minute or two, getting frostbite, debating if we should go around. That aircraft has 2 turbo-prop engines, and is quite loud, too. It looked like it was going to start taxiing any minute. So, rather than freeze, we decided to make a big circle around behind it. Well, the circle wasn’t big enough, and as we were passing behind it, the pilot started taxiing! So, we walked right through the propwash, not once but twice! It almost knocked us over! Once it moved, we went on about our business, but I thought it was a pretty eventful first half-hour of my first shift!! ๐Ÿ™‚

I have a few more observations on High Level:
– There are no traffic lights whatsoever. Not even a flashing yellow or red anywhere! Busy intersections have 4-way stops and less busy ones 2-way stops. ๐Ÿ™‚ Everywhere else, yield signs or nothing at all.
– There is no waiting to cross train tracks (therefore no “I was late for work because of the train” excuses). There are school buses on the highway, however, that will add some serious time to the commute if you get stuck behind one! The train tracks go through a more industrial part of town, so I suppose some people might be able to use the excuse….
– There are no coffee shops! No Tim Hortons, no Country Style, no Second Cup, Williams, Starbucks or any other store whose main purpose is coffee. Amazing. In all of North America, who thought it possible? People here actually make their own coffee! Oooo! ๐Ÿ™‚
– There are lots of liquor stores. I haven’t counted them officially, but I can think of 4 of the top of my head. Quite a few for a town with no coffee shops! There are only 2 ‘bars,’ though one’s more of a lounge. Haven’t been to any yet. Don’t plan to anytime soon.
– There are several fast food chains here: A & W, KFC, Subway, Quiznos, Boston Pizza (not really fast), and a new “major chain” store opening soon, but the construction sign doesn’t say which one. Wanna bet Tim Hortons?
– There is good cel phone coverage. This from Patricia, who said that the signal is as strong as it could be. ๐Ÿ™‚
– There are more cars than you’d think. When I first got here, with rig season still underway, there was a majority of trucks and lots of semis, too. The semis were bumper-to-bumper along the side of the service road. Now, though, less semis (less of them stopped overnight) and less pick-ups as well. There’s a nice crossection of cars, minivans, the usual.
– People are friendly here. Yes, it’s true. They are. You can chat with people in the grocery check out line, and it isn’t forced or awkward. The librarians are nice, and people talk in the library (not that stiffling silence most libraries impose). So, in general, people are more friendly than anywhere else in Alberta, or Canada, that I’ve experienced (no offence to you if you feel your town is friendly, too).

Well, I should get going! The movers come tomorrow, so I’ll be out of the hotel! Yay! I have the day off to take care of it, so if I get time, I’ll blog again. ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care!

One thought on “Getting Used to the Altitude!

    Patricia said:
    April 10, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    Ha, it took me a second to realize by “commenting sister” you meant commenting on your Blog! That IS what you meant, right?? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope your move went well! Can’t wait to hear about it. I’m signing up for Yak long distance (3.5 cents/minute!) so we can talk more. Of course, if NAV Canada is paying your utilities, I should let you call…

    I had a great time visiting you and Eddie. It was so nice to see you both, glad we could find some time to hang out. Thanks for everything (including that Blueberry Soy Delicious!!). Made my trip a lot more fun than the conference would have been by itself! My fellow “waiting to fly home” conference attendees were so impressed to meet you…

    And hey, anybody who’s thinking about visiting Teresa, she’s got lots of space in that new place of hers!!!

Leave a Reply

