Living the High (Level) Life

Posted on

Sorry about the title, butI have to have a little fun with it! I just can’t help that there are so many High Level puns! Let’s see… more about life in High Level… I am living in a hotel at the moment, and for those of you every planning on visiting, plan on staying at “Our Place.” It is by far the best hotel in town! Everything in the room is new, and nice, and freshly painted. Eddie and I are quite happy there; although the room is not terribly big, it has a little kitchen and good shower. The shower is very important! It’s something you use every day! Anyhow, it is nice and I am happy there. I will be moving soon, though! At the beginning of April (which is about a month sooner than I was expecting), I will be moving into ‘company housing.’ It’s a bunch of row houses, not fancy but quite nice on the inside and outside. Not everyone in the place works for Nav Canada, but it is all subsidized housing, so there’s RCMP and doctors and such. So, I am busily packing and acquiring furniture for the place. If you recall, I had to sell/give away all my furniture when I left Sudbury. So, now I’m looking for a bed, dresser, shelves (if I can find some, otherwise I’ll buy them in High Level) and such. I already have a couch, kitchen table and chairs. So, it’s coming along! 🙂 It sure seems weird – I got rid of everything, moved to Alberta, went back to Ontario, back to Alberta, then to northern Alberta, and now I have to get everything back again! Oh, well. I’m excited, I just wish I had a bit more money so I didn’t have to be so careful about everything I buy. And a bit more time! But, I am not complaining, since I have a good job that I like and many people do not. And so far, I like High Level (as a town). The people seem nice, and my co-workers are certainly nice! And they’re the most important people, in many ways… I can’t wait for spring, though. I know I’m not the only one feeling that way! I went skiing once (cross-country) and it was great. Better than in Sudbury – you never quite know if you’re cross-country or downhill skiing in Sudbury!

Man, did we get snow today! There was a base of about 8 inches, and in the last 24 hours we got another 10 inches – that’s an awful lot of snow for northern Alberta! So, we are tromping through the snow, definitely over your knees in places where no one has walked. Makes doing chores, well, a chore! 🙂 (Sorry.) Not really. 🙂 So, it was a nice wintery snow-day! Didn’t go anywhere, just stayed home. 🙂

Well, that’s all I’ll write for now… I’ll have to tell a few stories about work later on! 🙂 Take care, everyone! Stay warm!

2 thoughts on “Living the High (Level) Life

    Stevenevraumont said:
    March 19, 2006 at 8:07 am

    Love the stories hun. Keep em comin =D All that moving around from East to West? How have you managed to keep a “Level” head?

    *the crowd goes boo and hiss…

    Patricia said:
    March 20, 2006 at 4:38 pm

    Hey, Ter. Great to hear about your life up North – I’ve missed your Blogs, you’ve gotta get back online full time soon!!

    I’m coming to visit, going to that Northern Development Conference – did Dad tell you?? So call me!

    Oh, and if you still need a dresser, I have an “antique” you can take for free if you like… Although I’ll totally understand if you want something better!!! Let me know!

Leave a Reply

