Loose Ends

Posted on

Today is the day of loose ends! We just had our class photo taken – all standing up against the mural in the hallway like a firing line! No, I’m just kidding. It wasn’t like a firing line. 🙂 Throughout the day, we have a few “classes” here and there – meetings with various people at Nav to tell us about various things we need to know, plus our final interview with Duane. And we’re trying to fill in our moving expense forms so we can get the cash advances we need… that kind of thing. And I’m trying to finish packing so that I’m all done today and don’t have to worry about it tomorrow. Speaking of tomorrow, we have a training session on harrasment (or I suppose I should say “anti-harrasment”) and then right after, I leave on the airport shuttle to catch my flight. I am glad I’m not staying another night; what’s the point, eh? I get into Edmonton at about 10:30 pm local time, and I can’t wait to see everybody!!

Speaking of packing… I’ve been noticing something about suitcases lately. You know those ones with the long handle that you pull along behind you on 2 wheels? Well, I’ve been noticing that they are getting smaller and smaller. I saw a few people last week, presumably at NCTI for a conference, with ones that were so small, I swear they were just briefcases! Are we so out of shape these days that we can’t even carry a briefcase? Now maybe these people have whiplash (like my friends Susi and Stuart – hope you are feeling okay today!!) or maybe they have, uh, bad arms? I don’t know, it just seems a bit ridiculous to see someone pulling such a small case on such long handles for what is probably a very short distance.

Other than that…. well, it’s a nice relaxing day! It’s sunny and the sky is clear blue… what a great day to appreciate life and all the blessings I’ve been given! And I’ll be going home soon and starting my new life in High Level – the adventure continues!! 🙂 Take care everybody and stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “Loose Ends

    Patricia said:
    March 1, 2006 at 5:01 am

    I agree with you in general about the general condition of people these days (i.e., out of shape). But depending on what they’re hauling in those cases, like maybe laptops or projectors for presentations, I can say from personal experience that lugging things like that through airports IS rough, and a case with wheels could come in handy and prevent some major neck/shoulder strain (especially if you’re lugging it with other luggage!!). It’s not even that the equipment is so heavy, it’s the damn cases!!!

    But you’re right, they’re probably just out of shape desk workers }:-)

    David said:
    March 3, 2006 at 3:46 am

    Yikes!! Did that ever sneak up on me! You’re finished?! But it’s not even March! (Yes, I’m the friend who’s always late and hasn’t even gotten around to commenting once until the blog’s all over. Yeesh! Sorry.)

    Anyway, congratulations on a job well (that is, I presume, successfully) done. What a relief it must be (judging from the many chapters of arduous adventure), and a sweet feeling of accomplishment. And now, onward, yes? But not after a deserved vacation back home. Aaaahh…

    Glad to hear the blog will continue. I have snagged the pre-bound version of “Adventures with” by printing Hovergirl in its entirety! It will rescue me when I start feeling like a slug. Besides a career starting in High Level, may we expect a similar status for the chronicled saga on the NY Times Bestseller list?

    Hope to check you out in person to see if you’re beaming or bedraggled.

    –David

Leave a Reply

