Almost Done

Posted on

Well, I thought I’d take a minute before heading off to bed to update the blog! I had a pretty good weekend, with a bit of reviewing, but mostly relaxing. Today was not the greatest day I’ve ever had. Simops in the morning went okay – and I found out that I had done quite well on Friday’s simops despite the crazy weather – but the sim run didn’t go so well. I messed up a couple of things for the NORDO aircraft (NO RaDIo). I didn’t give him the traffic of other aircraft while I had him on the phone, and the really big screw up was that I didn’t get the vehicle off the runway until the airplane was on final – I had about 30 seconds to spare which is WAY too close! So, I knew I had done badly. I did alright handling the emergency, I think. After the run was over, my instructor wanted to talk to me about the vehicle problem, and I started to cry. I couldn’t help it – I was so tired!! I didn’t sleep enough the night before (took too long getting to sleep), and the run was at my “sleepy time” of day. Once the run was over, my body just started shutting down. So, it was not a great moment, but the instructor I had was very nice. Once I was done, we talked about what had happened, and I just have to get it right next time!! After I got back to my room, I called my friend Adam, who reminded me that no one’s dying, it’s not the end of the world, and in his words “F*ck it!!” (Sorry, Mom.) And I’m not the only one who is not doing stellar – there are a few in the class who are failing areas or on the brink of failing altogether. It’s not good. This is going to be one heck of a week.

So, tomorrow is the last day of eval, and I’ve heard through the grapevine that it’s the easiest day. Let’s hope the grapevine is right!! At the moment, it looks like I may have to do a re-eval for vehicles. We’ll see how tomorrow goes. I am going to bed super-early so that I can get lots of extra sleep and be better rested. I think I will think better if I have more sleep! ๐Ÿ™‚ I know I really can’t drink any more of the “Think O2” tea or I may overdose!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks everybody for praying and thinking of me. I’ll keep you updated. We may find out tomorrow evening, or we may have to wait until Wednesday afternoon. Officially, it’s Wednesday pm, but Duane usually tries to let us know as soon as possible. We’ll see. Love y’all! ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care.

One thought on “Almost Done

    Patricia said:
    February 21, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    Hey Ter,

    Sorry to hear yesterday was so rough. Hope you got some rest last night. I’ll be thinking about you this week, for what that’s worth ๐Ÿ˜‰ Keeping my fingers crossed and all that good stuff…

    And I think your friend Adam is right!!! Hang in there – you are ALMOST there!!! So close ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so proud of you.

    Love you,

    Pat

Leave a Reply

