Wild & Wacky Weather

Posted on

Yesterday was quite a day! I was a little tired and stressed in the morning (before breakfast, even) because we didn’t have the day’s schedule yet! So, we didn’t know what times we’d be in the sim, and some people didn’t even know if they were first or last, or if they’d be in the morning or afternoon group for simops! So, it was a stressful way to start the day. But, we got the schedule, and simops started, and I woke up in a hurry!! We had such wild weather! Remember how in Thursday’s blog I said we might have freezing rain, rain, ice pellets or even snow? Well, we had all 4, in a matter of 3 hours! In fact, we went from freezing rain to rain in about the first 15 minutes of the day (temperature shot up from -6 to +1 C!) and then an hour later or so the rain instantly changed to ice pellets with snow mixed in (and temp went back down to -7 C)! It went on that way for about 20 minutes and then the ice pellets stopped and it was snow and blowing snow for the rest of the time. It was so wild! The wind was calm when the day started (we wondered if maybe our wind instruments were giving a false reading because they were frozen up due to the freezing rain) and by the end we had experienced 20 gusting to 37! And ice pellets at 20 knots really hurt (20 knots is about 37 km/h)! Plus, with the blowing snow, the visibility kept going up and down, and every time it does, we have to do a ‘special’ report. But, the good thing about it all is that with more weather to report, there are more entries on the page, therefore each single mistake is worth less. And we got to see first hand what happens when a warm front goes by followed by a cold front! Oh, and I got my mark from the first day and I got 90%, so I’m happy about that!!

As for the sim run…. I was scheduled in at 2:40 pm, but we were running about a half hour late, so I went in just after 3:00 pm. Not a good time of day for me, but I was in a good frame of mind when I went in, felt good and was thinking good. But I got a bit nervous during the run, and made a bunch of small mistakes. Mostly things like not giving certain advisory info in the initial call and giving the info later. So, hopefully, my instructor will give me part marks, or maybe even full marks, because I still gave the info. I hate being nervous!! I wasn’t paralyzingly nervous, just a bit of an undercurrent, and it was hard to ‘get in the groove’ in the run. I heard other classmates say that as well, so I’m not the only one who feels that way. I think I handled the emergency well, though. So, I felt a bit down after it was done, but as I thought about it, I thought that maybe I will still pass it. I don’t know, but I am not going to worry about it any more! I am going to relax and rejuvenate this weekend and review some stuff as well, and just get in there on Monday and do the job I have to do! We still have Monday and Tuesday to do runs, and the marks will be all added up for all 3 days.

Not much else new… I’ve been getting very excited about going to High Level, and my OJI has been sending me info and pictures. I have talked to my manager and now have a start date and know where I will be living! Also, a friend of mine from BC is here on refresher training, so I was hanging around with him a bit this week! We have such good discussions, and it is nice to talk about spiritual/deep things. Switching topics – Duane told us this week that we have to stay for an extra day for harassment training. I didn’t know it was so important for people to know how to harrass! 🙂 So now we won’t be leaving until March 1st. Oh, well. It’s a beautiful sunny day today, and I’d like to go for a walk, but at the moment, it’s -28 with the windchill!! Ack! So now I know how all of you feel – most everyone had a cold snap this week, eh? So, keep warm and keep your head up!

Leave a Reply

