Simulated Explosions

Posted on

Hi everybody! Thought I’d give an update today since I have a little time and it’s been a couple of days since I wrote. Things are going well; since Tuesday, I’ve done 2 sim runs, both went well. I made a few mistakes yesterday that cost me some marks on the progress check, but those marks don’t count for anything. It’s just to let you know how you’re doing. I did pretty well today, and handled the emergency really well. It didn’t unfold the way it was supposed to – the pretend pilot was supposed to call up with some sort of engine trouble, but he didn’t, so the plane just spontaneously exploded after landing. It’s weird in the sim, because after the plane explodes, a few pieces fly around, there’s a bit of smoke, and then the whole plane, smoke, fireball and all completely disappears. Very strange! So then, the emergency vehicles go out to the crash site and just sit there on the empty runway! In fact, the whole thing happens so fast, that if you get caught with your head down, you could even miss the entire thing and just end up wondering, “where did that plane go?” So, that’s how explosions look in the sim. The com system has a bunch of numbers in the speed dial, so there are a bunch of people you have to call as quickly as you can, and that’s part of the procedure. It’s all on an emergency log sheet, so you just basically follow the sheet and put the time and initials of the person you talked to.

Besides sim runs… simops started yesterday. It was just a practice day, but today will be for marks. And wouldn’t you know it, we had no weather to report yesterday except a bit of cloud, and today we have a warm front passing, so we have snow right now, we’ll probably get ice pellets and/or freezing rain later, and rain tomorrow! Gads! Lots of fussing with amounts of precip. Oh, well. Could be worse; could be thunderstorms and tornadoes!

I called High Level on Tuesday night and talked to the OJI (On-the-Job Instructor) that I will have. She is so nice! I am really excited to go there now! She filled me in on the company housing, and what the town and the crew of FSS are like. It’s going to be fun… The housing is a 3-bedroom place, with all appliances included. I’m going to have to buy furniture again! The FSS crew up there sounds pretty nice, and the manager is great too. So, I am definitely looking forward to going up there! She also said the highway leading to High Level is in good shape, although the roads in town are very pot-holey. Sounds like every other town or city in Canada!

Well, I think that’s all. Thanks for all the prayers and thoughts, everybody. I can tell it’s working! Take care, and I’ll blog (or is that blab? 🙂 again soon!

One thought on “Simulated Explosions

    Patricia said:
    February 16, 2006 at 6:09 pm

    Hey, Ter! I’m hooked up on internet here at Aunt Mickey’s in Vancouver, so I thought I’d see what you were up to 🙂 Glad to hear things are going well, and that things in High Level are shaping up. That’s exciting! Furniture shopping, that’s always fun – let me know if you are doing any shopping in Edmonton and I’ll come with you!!! I can recommend a good place for furniture, where we recently bought ours…

    Anyway, I’m just hanging out, thought I’d say hello 🙂

    Love you,

    Pat

Leave a Reply

