High Level, Here I Come!

Posted on

I’ve had a rather eventful day!! It’s the kind of day that feels like 2 days… first thing in the morning, we wrote aviation test #4 – the last one! 🙂 It had some pretty tricky questions on it, and for one of the long answer questions, about hijacking of all things, I drew a blank at first!! But, I thought about it and managed to haul the answers out of my brain. I’m pretty pleased that I got 3 out of 4 on that question!! Overall, I passed with a good mark (not an amazingly fabulous mark), and I’m happy about that. One guy didn’t pass, so he has to re-write it tomorrow. I’m going to help him study for awhile this evening. He really has to pass, or he will have to go home.

After the test, we had time to kill and then our mini-meeting with Duane and the head of airports training. Oh, the tension!!! Waiting to get our postings!! I was so excited – from the minute I first thought about it this morning and started to get excited, until that moment at 10:15 am when we found out, it was a steady increase in excitement – almost unbearable at the end! The director told us by just pointing at people and asking their names and reading that person’s posting out loud. I was about third to find out, and it was High Level! We’d been instructed not to give a cheer if we feel like it, out of respect for the people who did not get their choice. There were definitely a few surprises. My friend Kevin did not get his choice – or any place on his list – but he is going back home to Winnipeg, so it could be worse. Another guy in the class got sent to a place that wasn’t on his list, and he was pretty shocked. We were all shocked by who got posted to Iqualuit, but that’s a long story. It could have been worse, because at least that guy’s girlfriend, apparently, wants to go to Iqualuit. I don’t think she knows what she’s getting into, but that’s just my opinion!!

After that, I had a Direction Finding lab, and then lunch, then killed some time, then a couple classes and a block of time where we filled in human resources paperwork. It was mostly for payroll and benefits, so no complaints there! Tomorrow, I have my progress check at 8:00 am, which means I’ll be getting up nice and early like I did today. Not too bad if you get to bed at a reasonable time, eh? It didn’t take me very long to get to sleep last night, which was nice, since I had the test this morning. I hear that quite a few places have short-change shifts, which means only 8 hours between the time you leave work and the time your next shift starts. So, I will have to be able to fall asleep quickly so I can sneak in more than a nap!!

Well, that’s all the news, folks! I am going to call High Level this evening and introduce myself, and see what I can find out about things up there (that I don’t already know). I’ll keep you all “posted!” 🙂 Have a great day, everybody!

One thought on “High Level, Here I Come!

    Patricia said:
    February 15, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    Congrats again!! So glad you’ll finally be in the land of No Sales Tax 😉

    Can’t wait to see you.

    Love ya,

    Pat

Leave a Reply

