Weird Feeling in my Head

Posted on

Not much new to report! I can’t believe that we’ll be done in 4 weeks, and I know that the time will go fast. I was looking at my aviation binder, module 3, and we have some interesting chapters coming up! Emergencies! More direction finding (which we call “DF”)!

I had a very hard time in the lab this afternoon. We were doing flight planning calls, with our instructors calling up with various flight planning requests. For example, they would say “we’re not going to be leaving on time. Can you change our proposed time of departure?” Or, “we’re running late. Can you change our ETA?” (That’s estimated time of arrival.) But, the problem was, I felt like I could just put my head down and fall asleep!! I was so tired! I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed this, but I get a strange “heavy” feeling in the back of my head when I am sleepy. It happens just before I fall asleep at night and I know that I’ll be asleep within a minute. Well, I had that feeling all afternoon – how hard it was to think and respond to radio calls!! Let me know if you’ve ever noticed this feeling, or if I’m alone on this. Gads, it’s hard to stay awake in those conditions.

Not much else to report… we’ve a few good one-liners (mistakes in the simulator) from the eval week and before. I think I’ll make a list of them and put them up in a day or two! Must run – expecting a phone call (and those don’t happen too often, so I get pretty excited. Still not as exciting as an escalator, though…)! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weird Feeling in my Head

    Patricia said:
    February 1, 2006 at 9:45 pm

    How are you doing?? Has the “weird feeling” passed? Can’t relate, unfortunately, since sleep and I have never gotten along that well 🙂 But I can see how feeling sleepy in the control room would be BAD! Hope you’re doing better. Been thinking about you.

    Did you get any kind of “break” after the evals last week? Do you have a “final” to look forward to still? When will you get the list of potential assignments?? Inquiring minds want to know!

    Can’t believe you’re into the home stretch!

    We’re so proud of you 🙂

    Anonymous said:
    February 1, 2006 at 10:35 pm

    My eyes just get really heavy…
    But maybe that’s just me 😉

    Cheers!

    Susi

Leave a Reply

