Half done the eval

Posted on

Well, I thought I should give an update on the first 2 days of this eval. I think I am doing okay. I was calm as a cucumber yesterday, except for the fact that we had a LOT of planes calling up all at once. The usual. 🙂 It was a nice, sunny day in the simualator, the kind of day that makes every Tom, Dick and Harry in his Cherokee, Skyhawk and Turbo Porter want to go for a flight! So, it was quite busy, but I think I did pretty good, although I know I forgot to give any wake turbulence warnings (this is when a small plane comes in behind a bigger plane, and there is the potential for dangerous turbulence). But, other than that, I think I did alright.

Today’s run was foggy, and I wasn’t quite as cucumbery as I was yesterday. I started out okay, but then I made a rather goofy mistake, so that threw me off a little. I saw that a new weather report had come in on the computer, but I thought I didn’t have to check it right away, so I gave an advisory to a little plane to land, not knowing that I needed to get special VFR authorization from the ATC unit. In other words, he was on final for a runway and he didn’t have the permission he needed, and it was my fault I didn’t get it for him. So, I got it for him as quickly as I could and passed it on to him as quickly as I could, so as to minimize the mistake. It wasn’t like it was unsafe or anything, but it was not exactly, uh, allowed. 🙂 >sheepish grin< At the end of the run, I felt like I had done alright, overall, and my instructor hinted to that effect. So that was nice. 🙂

So, two days done, two days to go. At least I feel like I am passing so far! Now the trick is to just keep everything up. Some of you know that I value being a consistent person – I don’t like to be moody or inconsistent, unpredictable (in a bad way) or flaky (also in a bad way-certain situations don’t count!). So, now that applies here, too! If I can just keep being consistently good, I should pass!

I hope that everyone is doing well… Thanks for all your thoughts, prayers, crossed fingers and such! Take care, everybody!

One thought on “Half done the eval

    Patricia said:
    January 26, 2006 at 8:35 pm

    Good luck!! Keep thinking “I’m cool, I’m calm, I’m gonna be OK…” OK, that’s from a Biff Naked song, totally not your style, I know, but I heard it for the first time yesterday and it’s got the best groove (I’m thinking I’m going to download it, what a great morning song!). I’m sure you could put one of your own to it!

    I’m sure I speak for everybody when I say thanks for keeping us posted 🙂 Keeping fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

