Time is Weird

Posted on

I don’t think anyone will argue with me that time is weird. It’s the only dimension that seems to stretch and squish so much in every day life!! You know the saying “time flies when you’re having fun” and you know it to be true. But what is going on with my life then? Last week, when I was in it, it felt like time was going rather slowly. In fact, some days felt like 2 days, in that the evenings felt like they were another day altogether. I kept thinking it was later in the week than it actually was. Kind of depressing when you keep thinking it’s Friday, but it’s only Wednesday and you have 2 more days left in the week. Yet, I did not have a bad week, just that some of the days felt long.

Now that I am looking back on the week, it seemed to scoot by – how could we be starting the 3rd week of January already?!?!? See what I mean? Time is weird, no doubt about it. Another example – I have been in training for 12 weeks now, which is not a terribly long period of time, yet I feel like I’ve been here forever, and can barely remember what it was like to live anywhere else (and cook for myself? Did I ever?). The scary part is, I only have 6 weeks left, and if the past time-flow is any indication, it is going to go by so fast! (This is all if I pass everything, which I hope/plan to.) So, in no time, I’ll be finishing up, and being posted somewhere, and dealing with REAL PLANES and I’m not ready!!! I suppose by the time it comes, I’ll be ready… and it’s not like they’ll leave me alone for awhile… Yikes.

So, what is coming up this week? Lots. We have classes and labs and such, but most importantly, we have Progress Check #2, which takes place in anticipation of Eval #2 (next week). The progress check is spread over 2 days this time, and Eval #2 will take place over 4 days (most of next week). Also this week, we have our 3rd Aviation test, so I have been studying for that quite a bit this weekend. I don’t feel like I have studied as much as I would have liked, but oh, well. (Wow, that’s a sentence!) The test is Thursday morning, so I have 3 more days to get some good review in.

That’s all for now! I am going to head off to bed early and try to be alert and awake by 8:45 tomorrow morning. You’d think that should be easy, but we were on late shift all last week and I enjoyed sleeping in very much. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Time is Weird

    Patricia said:
    January 16, 2006 at 5:21 pm

    Good luck this week, Ter!!!

    And oh ya, no argument here, time really IS weird…

    kathy said:
    January 18, 2006 at 3:33 am

    Hi Teresa

    Sorry we missed you at Christmas. Great to read your thoughts on time and I think around here it seems to fly. Good luck on your tests this week and we are counting down the weeks until you are finished and posted close to home.

    Lots of Love

    Aunty Kathy

Leave a Reply

