Reprogramming My Brain

Posted on

I definitely feel like my brain is being reprogrammed. Well, here are the top 10 reasons I know it’s happening…

– 10 – Word Usage

“Squawk” no longer has anything to do with chickens. It is what a pilot does on his or her transponder.

– 9 – Abbreviations

I am learning to abbreviate everything, from simple things like “above” (ABV) or “cancel” (CNL) to whole phrases like “clearance cancelled if not airborned by” (CC) or “cleared to the airport for an approach” (A) or “cleared out of controlled airspace” (B). Why waste time on words, eh?

– 8 – Acronyms

I now enjoy using acronyms of acronyms, like VMC, which stands for VFR Meteorological Conditions, where of course VFR stands for Visual Flight Rules. So, VMC in full is Visual Flight Rules Meterological Conditions. Isn’t this a great idea?!? ๐Ÿ™‚

– 7 – Studying

Isn’t it perfectly normal to spend some time Friday night, all day Saturday, and about half of Sunday studying, reviewing, practicing, making up cue cards, etc.?

– 6 – Unnatural Affinity for Cue Cards

I have a few sets of mini cue cards that I am rather proud of. They are so cute and yet so informative… I also have a couple sets of normal-size cue cards, but everybody has those (don’t they?)!

– 5 – Getting Out

I don’t get out of the bubble much. I have noticed that I get very excited about a good steak, and escalators. (It’s true!)

– 4 – Less Twitching

I no longer twitch when I see popsicle sticks! You simply find them inside popsicles that you finish! (Those of you from Science North know that we used to cut thousands of them for the “Two Arms in Space” school program.)

– 3 – Proper Usage of Common Items

Going back to early October… I realized that clothes pins are for clothes! (Again, for a while I had forgotten their intended purpose for laundry and saw them only as Canadarm end effectors.)

– 2 – Looking Up

I now cannot stop myself from looking up and identifying cloud types, opacities, layer amounts, estimating cloud heights, etc. whenever I am near a window (or outside), day or night. I used to only do this in the evening to check for clouds, or at night, to look for stars.

and the number 1 reason I know my brain is being reprogrammed…

I now think and plan ahead of time when I might get to wear my slippers. I can’t usually during the day, but sometimes I plan it so I can… ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day everybody! Leave comments if ya have ’em!

4 thoughts on “Reprogramming My Brain

    Anonymous said:
    November 30, 2005 at 7:27 am

    Hi Ter,

    I’ve been following your blog a little – this just cracked me up!! Sounds like you’re adjusting and coping well with what must be one heck of a demanding program. Good for you. Hang in there, not too much longer now!

    Pat

    Teresa said:
    December 1, 2005 at 1:12 am

    Hi Pat,

    Good to hear from ya! Glad the blog made you smile. I think I’m about as well-adjusted as it gets… ๐Ÿ™‚ Lookin’ forward to Christmas!

    Ter

    Joah said:
    December 5, 2005 at 8:49 pm

    I am still patiently waiting for the day I can eat a popsicle and not cringe ๐Ÿ™‚

    Teresa said:
    December 7, 2005 at 3:43 am

    Josh,

    I recommend eating 3-4 popsicles a week, to see them in their natural state. Eventually, the twitches will pass!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    -T.

Leave a Reply

