Happy Thanksgiving!!

Posted on

Hope everyone had a good turkey-day! My mom disguised it as sweet and sour boneless chicken wings, and it was completely delicious! We also had the sweet-potato dish my sister always makes (yum!), pyrogies, lazy cabbage rolls, caesar salad (with a good, strong garlic dressing!) and the like. It is so nice to spend time with family, and of course, my niece and nephew stole the show many times!! 🙂 The best line (which will probably be the quote of the week in our house) was from my 4-year-old nephew, with a gleam in his eye, showing his auntie the playroom in the basement: “… and we NEVER have to clean it up!”

I am now gearing up to leave this lovely part of Alberta for the east again… I go to Cornwall for the training for my new job on Sunday. I’ll be there until the end of February, at least, and I am really looking forward to it. I got a tour of a bunch of facilities at the Edmonton Intl airport this evening! I got to see the control tower (amazing view!) and ask a few questions about what goes on up there. There were a few planes taking off and landing, but nothing too crazy (it was 7 pm). Then, I had a tour of the Flight Information Centre (in another building) and then the Area Control Centre – where they track and make sure planes don’t collide over much of western and northern Canada. The room is pretty much like a cross between NASA (the consoles look similar to a mission control centre) and Star Trek (but with less scantily-clad women)!! Anyhow, I watched while a controller directed planes approaching and departing from the Calgary Intl, to keep them a safe distance apart, and to allow a medivac helicopter to pass directly through all the traffic on its way to a hospital. I can see why you have to have a good sense of spatial perception (that doesn’t mean watching a lot of space channel, although I have done that, too!)!

So, that’s it for now. More musings on prairie/western life tomorrow or the day after!

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving!!

    Anonymous said:
    October 13, 2005 at 4:55 am

    Hey Teresa, i’m happy to hear that your having a blast in the west. The new astro supervisor is awesome but she can never replace you.( sniff.. tear) don’t forget to stop by if your in town.

    Julie

Leave a Reply

