You Know It’s Cold When…

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been saving these up for a while, so here goes! (I’ll spare you the boring stats of how cold it’s been here… I think pretty much everyone has been dealing with crappy weather of one kind or another!)

Teresa’s Top Ten: You know it’s cold when…

10. Pushing the clutch in on the Pathfinder (to start it) is like doing leg press exercises… for one leg.

(That’s not me.)

9. My front teeth have been aching a bit lately (as if I had braces), and I couldn’t figure out why until I went for a walk with friends. It was the cold making them ache! (One of my friends said he’s had this too.)

8. Donning of long johns* becomes regular practice in October, but these days, it’s double long johns and triple socks, always (two plain, one wooly).

7. I went for 4 consecutive days to work wearing wind pants over double long johns and fleece pants. Mind you, that might just say more about my work place or my sense of style than the temperature!

6. I can easily run out to prestart my vehicle in just the long-sleeved thin shirt, turtleneck, and wool sweater I’m wearing. As long as the wind isn’t blowing. (And yes, I am one of the poor saps who still doesn’t have remote start.)

5. Everybody knows not to touch your tongue to cold metal… but fingers on a cold doorknob, I keep forgetting about that! Ouch!

4. I can gauge how cold it is by how long I go humpin’ down the road! (i.e. vehicles have “square tires” for the first couple of km when you start driving. The colder it is, the longer it takes to round them out. :))

3. Freezers feel really WARM! I keep wondering if they are working properly… and they are.

2. The house furnace can’t keep up, resulting in… an unpleasantly cold toilet seat.

Okay, it's not THIS bad...
Okay, it’s not THIS bad…

1. When looking though the back of the vehicle for something, I caught myself sloshing the little bottle of gasline antifreeze to see if it was still liquid! Sheesh! That stuff is NEVER supposed to freeze!

Stay warm everybody! :)

*I am a bit of a “long john connoisseur” (but not the snooty kind). I have tested several types, and have my favourites… but they all have a place in the world! :) Hmmm… maybe I will do a long john review in a future post.

Related posts:
Another Top Ten
Surviving Cabin Fever
Top Ten Handy Practical Tips
Top Ten Modern Products I Can Live Without

2 thoughts on “You Know It’s Cold When…

    Patricia Sullivan said:
    January 6, 2014 at 6:16 am

    Ohhhhh my I am grateful to be missing that cold…although it has been longjohn weather here…if you write the long john review it would be interesting to know where the name came from…LOL. I like the microfiber from Marks ..love your blogs

    mary klassen said:
    January 6, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    By far the warmest longjohns I have ever worn, and I have worn and worn out a many pair in my lifetime, are Helly Hansen, however they are not an everyday longjohn as they are too warm to wear indoors (for me anyway). Ladies longjohns are useless (in my opinion) I find that a great everyday longjohn are the waffles knit mens that you can buy almost anywhere. I stopped wearing ladies longjohns when my mom stopped buying my clothes, mens are just warmer.

Leave a Reply

