This Blur Called April

Posted on Updated on

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been about month since I posted last! What a month it has been!

Fire Conference. I got to go to the fire conference in Peace River! It was a great time, although a lot of work and I’ve never worn BA (breathing aparatus) for that many days in a row. It’s heavy! But when I take it off, I feel so light, it’s wonderful. We got to meet lots of neat people, from other volunteer fire departments across Alberta, as well as some professional fire fighters. It’s great comparing departments and telling stories! At the various training sessions, we learned some new techniques and methods for escaping buildings in a hurry (see photo below) and how to get through a mess of wires. In fact, we learned too much to really go into here! We also helped run the phase 1 flashover chamber, where fire fighters get to see a fire develop to the flashover stage and practice the nozzle technique to prevent the fire from flashing over. It’s neat, and hot. Our job was to restock the chamber once a group was done, i.e. all the fuel was burned. We’d put the BA on, because it was pretty hot and smoky, shovel all the ash and whatever wood was left out, and then put new wood in the burn barrel, MDF sheets on the sides and roof and the back wall of the burn chamber, so that it could be lighted up for the next group. We worked hard, and several of the groups complimented us on how well we ran the chamber. :) After the conference was over, we had the trainer come up to teach us how to use our brand-new phase 2 flashover trainer, which I also got to be a part of — not as an instructor, just to practice. It was great! And really hot! There was so much fire and heat in there, it was unreal. The first time I went in, I was totally overwhelmed by all the things I had to do, it was a blur. The second, third and fourth times, though, I was able to pay attention better. What an experience!

Bailing out of a window onto a ladder
Phase 1 chamber with Phase 2 behind

The York Boat. I’ve been working a LOT on the York boat expedition. Lately, I’ve been doing the trip planning, food planning, as well as buying supplies and getting costumes made. Well, I’m still looking for a seamstress, but I have a few good leads now to follow. Yes, we’ll be decked out in voyageur-type clothing as part of our attempt to be historically accurate! :)
The York boat has been taking up a lot of my time and efforts, and although it’s generally great, I get a little discouraged at times. I’m going to blog about this more tomorrow. There are still a couple of spots available for the trip, if you’d like to come (or know someone who would like to join in)! :)

The York Boat Factory in Cochrane, Alberta (a pun on York Factory, the Hudson's Bay Company's headquarters for many years)

Check out the rudder on the York Boat! This is one BIG boat!

Check out GeoTourism Canada’s facebook page!

One thought on “This Blur Called April

    Weekend at the Fire Hall « Adventures with Teresa said:
    November 27, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    [...] not afraid to try new things, get outside my comfort zone (what comfort zone?!? ) and “get my hands dirty.” But this is people’s blood! Yikes. We watched a video to learn about anatomy, and the [...]

Leave a Reply

