Poem to the Riverside Plants

Posted on Updated on

A Poem to the Riverside Plants

Hello little plant.
You have been my constant companion.
I have stepped on you,
pushed you aside,
pushed you over,
put my tent on top of you,
and now, I sit here among you
using you as shelter from the storm,
knowing that you are a little taller than I am
so if lightning strikes, it’ll strike you first.
I have taken you for granted,
mistreated you,
maybe even abused you,
and still you shelter me
and love me and produce oxygen for me.
You are Nature.

I wrote this poem on day six of my kayak trip this summer, after sitting out a thunderstorm on the shore of the Peace River, with no shelter or protection from the elements except for a rain slicker and the small willows on the muddy bank.

Leave a Reply

