Wedding & Honeymoon

Posted on Updated on

Let me share some pictures of the wedding and honeymoon! It was a great time… feels like longer, but it was only 3 weeks ago! Hard to believe!

Reverend Patrick starting the ceremony
Reverend Patrick starting the ceremony
Part way through the ceremony. I am putting the ring on Darren's finger. All of a sudden, multi-tasking (talking and putting the ring on) became so hard!!
Here I am, putting the ring on Darren's finger. All of a sudden, multi-tasking (talking and putting the ring on) became so hard to do!
The kiss! Woo hoo!
The kiss! Woo hoo!
Weary travelers that we were, we made it to Jamaica!
Weary travelers that we were, we made it to Jamaica!
Our perfect honeymoon cabin (at Royal DeCameron Resort, Runaway Bay, Jamaica)
Our perfect honeymoon cabin (at Royal DeCameron Club Caribbean Resort, Runaway Bay, Jamaica)
One beautiful evening
One beautiful evening
Sunset over the resort. This picture was taken from the Jetty Bar, which was built over the rocks/water.
Sunset over the resort. This picture was taken from the Jetty Bar, which was built over the rocks/water.
One of the beaches. There were 4 "coves" that made up the beaches. Very nice!
One of the beaches. The beaches were in 4 "coves." Very nice!
Need I say more?
Need I say more?

So I’ve been thinking 2 things lately: Things usually happen gradually — everything from changes in the world, to the weather, to what kind of person I am becoming. So who am I becoming? Am I gradually becoming more loving, more kind, more understanding? Or am I becoming more judgmental, snappy or sarcastic? I do get snappy when I am hungry, but that is usually preventable, if I only make sure to take care of myself. In fact, if I take care of myself emotionally and spiritually, I am far less likely to be judgmental or sarcastic, too.

As for world changes, the “financial crisis” is pretty hot in the news (even though I never watch it). Well, it seems to me that when you play with pretend money too much, you are going to get in trouble. (“Pretend money” is loaned money, stocks and such.) In Jamaica, the majority of people live in small/half-finished houses, because the lending rate is so high, no one can afford a mortgage. So they save real money, and build on as they can (it is similar in Mazatlan, Mexico, where I visited in February). So although it may not be their dream house until they are old, it is all theirs, bought and paid for every step of the way.

The second thing I’ve been pondering — remembering from a class I took — is that when some new idea comes along, test it by saying “if that were true for me, would I be more free?” For example, if I hear that the real estate market is going downhill, I can think “if that is true for me, would I be more free?” The answer: nope! I might start to worry or mope, which is not adding to my freedom.  So, I don’t focus on it, and in that way, it’s not true for me. I don’t think it is true, so it has no power over me then. Make sense?

The same phrase can be applied to a new thought like “so-and-so is a hag.” Does that make me more free?  Nope! Because then I want to avoid that person (which is hard work in a small town!) or I have to work at biting my tongue… definitely not more free! So I can choose to have a new thought, one that is more understanding or less judgmental.

Anyways, that’ll give you something to think about! Have a great day!

One thought on “Wedding & Honeymoon

    Rebecca Harper said:
    December 29, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Hello Teresa! I am so happy for you, you both look so happy :) My wish for the two of you is that you will both GROW with each other, remember to LISTEN to each other, and remember to TALK to each other. May you both have plenty of good times, and hang onto each other during the tough times. May your marriage be filled with happiness and success and you should live long with each other!

    HUGS!
    Rebecca (aka Dr. Ferdie)

Leave a Reply

