Mind Your Television

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been noticing lately that I feel different when I watch TV. Within minutes of watching, my mind, somehow, feels different. It’s like the free-flowing thinking is being re-routed. Difficult to explain or understand, until now.

I’ve been reading in a very good book Evolve Your Brain by Joe Dispenza, D.C. He talks about how when you think a certain thought over and over, new neural nets are produced. In other words, neurons that fire together, wire together (as he puts it). This does make sense when you think of habits and things… you seem to do them automatically, don’t you? Those particular thoughts are so used to occurring together, they become almost “hard-wired,” probably to make it easier for your brain to do repeatedly. Well, we also have automatic thought patterns, although many of are unaware of what those are. It’s a great exercise to start becoming aware of what you are thinking, and also practicing staying in the moment with your thoughts and feelings, and not letting yourself get carried away in daydreams, or negative fantasizing (which I have dubbed “apocalypsing”). But, this is the subject of another blog, or heck, a whole book!

So, as I was reading Evolve Your Brain just now, it occurred to me: what if millions of people are all watching the same TV program, and all the commercials, at the same time? What does that do to the collective consciousness? For example, if a million women watch an hour-long show, and during that show, see the same anti-aging commercial 6 times (at least!), what effect does that have on women-kind as a whole? I think it might make us kind of obsessive about wrinkles or sagging, or age spots – you get the idea! What if that message affects only half of those women negatively (and the other half resist the message, knowing there is more to you than how young your face apparently looks)! That’s still an awful lot of people thinking the same thing at the same time… I wonder what that does to the Earth and all of mankind’s consciousness as a whole? What about violent shows, shows where the criminal takes centre stage, where twisted, aberrant behaviour is showcased. Maybe people would start to see those things as normal, or even as a way to get attention (since the criminal gets lots of attention, people chasing him etc.)… Scary, isn’t it? I am starting to understand how violence (in shows or video games) can be seen as entertainment. I never used to understand, but it’s the excitement that goes along with it – what will happen next, wow, I can’t believe he did that, etc. That excitement can be addictive – in fact, I think it’s pretty accurate to say that excitement is addictive no matter what form it comes in – TV, real life adventures, reading books, playing games to escape reality, etc.

So, the messages of TV are powerful, and they are amplified by the fact that so many millions of people see them. Even if you think they aren’t affecting you, they are. See if you can notice how you think or feel differently when you start to watch – you’ll probably only feel it for the first few minutes before the brainwashing begins and you lose your immunity to it. See if violent shows change you. That’s my theory anyway! Thoughts anyone?

Evolve Your Brain

7 thoughts on “Mind Your Television

    Why I Watch TV « Adventures with Teresa said:
    July 15, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    [...] I get the urge to watch. It can be such a strong urge, too! I know I’ve blogged about this before, but I have a few more insights! You might think the main reason for watching TV is entertainment, [...]

    Sensational News! « Adventures with Teresa said:
    May 9, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    [...] commercials — what is this ad really trying to say? And I know I’ve talked about this before, but what do you think it does to our collective consciousness when thousands or millions of people [...]

    [...] Posts: Mind Your Television | Endpoints | Lies We Believe | What if… Having the time of our lives… Advertisement Eco [...]

    [...] Posts: Mind Your Television | Endpoints | Lies We Believe | What if… Having the time of our lives… [...]

    [...] it’s not that I’m a techno-phobe, I just have no interest in TV, and especially dislike commercials. 3. iPhone. I don’t have one, and you know what? My life is not terrible! I might get one, [...]

    What Happens When We Die? « Adventures with Teresa said:
    January 13, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    [...] been thinking lately that movies and TV often seem to have hidden meanings — a deeper message hidden within. In the latest Star Trek [...]

    życzenia na wielkanoc said:
    April 24, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

